American Gods… on TV… FINALLY!

Woo Hoo! When the news got to me over the weekend I was entirely delighted. American Gods was the first novel from the mind of Neil Gaiman that I ever read. It was suggested to me by a work colleague and he even let me borrow it for a while. I finished it, and loved it. So a few weeks after I returned it I felt the need to own my own copy. I enjoyed it so much that I made a gift of the book to several people over the years, and always recommend it should the conversation go that way.

This series will be developed by Playtone and HBO, which adds the fuel of delirium to my already happy state. They were responsible for turning Stephen E. Ambrose’s book Band Of Brothers into what is possibly my favourite series ever (I still watch it about once a year, most recently it helped me through my exams). HBO is also currently running an adaptation of George R.R. Martin’s A Game Of Thrones, the penultimate episode of which I watched just before writing this, and it’s wonderful. A strong cast, a faithful and accurate adaptation… I could list all the reasons I like it, but I already have a blog post planned for next Monday following the finale. One only need look at the this list of HBO programming to get an idea of the promise of quality that accompanies their work.

But, and unfortunately there always seems to a but, this article says that the series is set to run for six seasons of ten to twelve episodes each. As I said I love this book. I’ve read it many times. I know the story and characters quite well. And I have no idea where a minimum of sixty episodes will come from. With a little stretching on character development, plus maybe some extensive stories on where the Gods came from and how they got to America, I reckon two seasons would cover it, and do it some nice justice. Three seasons would make it the most slowly paced show ever made, and most likely have people switching off in droves.

So, I was unhappy. Of all of Neil Gaiman’s work there is a specific list of the adaptations I want. Here it is:

  1. The Sandman
  2. American Gods
  3. Good Omens
  4. The Graveyard Book
  5. InterWorld
American Gods is number two. On a short list. It’s a dream. But it looked like it may be ruined. Drained of all life. Filled with filler episodes and script writer add ins. But I said just before the list “I was unhappy.” With “was” being the all important word. Because when I awoke this morning I opened up Twitter to browse through the nights goings on when I came across this:

WOO FREAKING HOO!

Neil Gaiman will write a second book “for a start.” So is input will not only be important, but it will be essential. It will be his mind, his imagination splashed across TV, and not some cheap imitation. Not some other writers attempt at an extension of the tale, oh no, the man himself will do it for us.

I may sound like I’m gushing, and I am.
I will look forward to this until it’s out. And then, more than likely, I will tell everyone to love it, and berate those who don’t with such vehemence and enthusiasm as to become regarded as slightly nutty. That’s ok with me.

Leave a Reply

