Fiscal Stability Treaty Thingamajiggy

So the next big vote for the Irish people is tomorrow. And I’m still not 100% sure how to vote, though I am leaning heavily toward the ‘no’ camp.

I don’t have anything to add in aiding you to understand the changes that a yes vote will cause over the coming years. Nor do I have anything to add with the same regard to a no vote. I will say though that the information disseminated by the government and other political bodies has been, at the very best, confusing, combative, and fear mongering.

It has not been made easy for people to make up their minds, nor has it been made clear as to which path would be best in the long run. And when I say ‘best’ I mean the path that suits this country and the people who live here. I certainly don’t mean the ‘best’ for Europe as a whole.

Let’s face it, following the European path started out as a great idea. But over recent years the deep water of happiness and co dependence has evaporated away until we are left on the dry side of  a shallow pool.

What I really wanted to say is to do with your vote, and what you do with it, should you choose to use it at all. Remember firstly that you have the right to vote, not the obligation. That said I do believe that you should exercise that right.

Next I’d like to suggest to you that if you do not understand the ramifications of the outcome of this vote then choose ‘no’. I say this because you should never let yourself be carried along with a wave accession just because a lot of other people are doing it. You may find you regret a yes vote in this case, and I think it more than likely that this vote will be revisited if the no vote wins out (regardless of what certain politicians have said).

If you can, I would suggest spending a couple of hours between now and tomorrow researching the changes to made. Understand them as best you can and decide for yourself then which way to vote, confident in your choice. Don’t listen to the advice of friends or families or politicians or bankers or business owners or the low earning employed. Let your own mind make the decision, and follow that.

Leave a Reply

