Black Ops 2 – First thoughts

Eagerly awaited by some, the latest Call Of Duty offering now sits in my Xbox 360, spun and played, if even just a little. I was not one of the many who waited for this game, or one who queued for it, or one who was even particularly looking forward to it.

I enjoyed the first Black Ops, and I adored World At War, but Modern Warfare 2 and 3 were bitter disappointments that I played more out of boredom (and occasionally friendship) than I did for actual enjoyment. Modern Warfare 3 put me off the franchise so much that I really considered not getting Black Ops 2. Unfortunately the last game I played, Assassins Creed 3, was such a steaming pile of dung that I needed something new, and quick. Enter Black Ops 2.

Single Player Campaign

I will probably never play this. The only chance I have of playing it is if I lose my internet connection, all of my books, and my will to live.

Zombies

This is what Treyarch have been doing well since World At War. I’ve only played it briefly, and alone, but it was fantastic. It was atmospheric, creepy, scary, and well put together. I can’t wait for a whole night of it.

Multiplayer

This is what we all play for, right? Zombies is amazing, but this is I go for my goodies.

I’ll start with the bad, since it’s nice to finish on a positive note:

  • Dick pictures (and every other vile thing you can think of) for emblems have returned. The lack of maturity of the average CoD player is not entertaining.
  • Terrible connectivity. Hopefully this is an early issue though, and will be resolved soon.
  • Awful spawns. I’ve spawned into sniper fire twice now, insta-death. Which brings me to…
  • The return of the unstoppable sniper man. They who can aim, fire, and kill two people before my assault rifle releases a single round. A few games have been ruined by quick-scopers and campers already, but as they find their favourite game types I’ll learn to avoid them.
  • Idiot players. And when I say that I mean it. Some game types involve actual objectives. Most player types involve ignoring the objective with every ounce of their being. I wish there was an extended TDM mode to cater for these morons.
  • Scorestreaks. I have something good about these later, but for now I just wish they’d brought back the support streaks from MW2. I was never mad for racking up huge streaks, but some are, and it’d be nice if everyone was catered to.

How about the good:

  • A good range of game types filling out core and hardcore modes.
  • Nice variety of maps. Obviously I haven’t explored half as much as I could have done, but already I’m impressed with what’s there. Big to small, dark to bright, corners and heights, it’s all there.
  • Customisation and class creation, which is super in depth. The ten point class creation is a nice twist, and frees you up to really make a class your own. It’s easy to stick with a classic arrangement, but also just as easy to try something new and load out on loads of perks.
  • Nuketown 24/7. Oh yes. Instant madness, all of the time.
  • The good part of Scorestreaks: Points rack up, in varying amounts, for almost everything you do. Be it a good kill, or simply having a UAV up when your team mate gets a kill. There’s plenty of ways to capitalise on this, and they all involve actually getting involved. Those pitching a tent will miss a lot of the fun.
  • A good weapons variety. Haven’t used them all yet, but I’ve tried a few assault rifles, a few sub machine guns, a sniper rifle, a shotgun, and a handgun. There’s something to suit almost every style of play.
  • The return of The Crossbow (yes a capital T for the). I can play an entire game with this one weapon. So much stupid fun.

That’s about it for now. I fully recommend giving it a go if you’re into competitive online games. It’s a lot better than MW2&3, and a nice sequel to Black Ops.

Leave a Reply

