Stuff Of The Year

It’s almost the end of 2012. I could attempt to be all sentimental about it, but I won’t. Instead I present my top books, movies, new TV and games of 2012, because this is also a time of year for such things.

Movies

  • Moonrise Kingdom – I was quite surprised by this film. I didn’t really know what to expect, but the lovely little story and the odd presentation and acting made for something endearing and wonderful.
  • The Cabin In The Woods – Anything with Bradley Whitford is good. Anything with Bradley Whitford and made by Joss Whedon… Well, I’ll keep it clean. Crazy monsters and a “meta” type story made for lots of fun. The presence of Cthulu would’ve been welcome though.
  • Paranorman – A kid that can see dead people. Kooky dead people. And zombies. Great humour, nice animation, and fun characters. Good for kids and adults.
  • The Dark Knight Rises – The conclusion of Chris Nolans fairly epic trilogy wasn’t something that a lot of people loved. I’m not one of them, I thoroughly enjoy this movie, and have done with each viewing.
  • Skyfall – An incredibly simple movie really, and one which delivered the payoff of a new M, Q, and Moneypenny. Along with reemergence of a certain Aston Martin.

Games

My absolute favourite game that I played this year was LIMBO. Well worth a play if you haven’t already.

  • Mass Effect 3 – This game was always going to be here. I love the ME universe, and all of the characters. I love how the soundtrack makes my heart beat faster, and I love massively epic sci fi. And I liked the ending.
  • Mark Of The Ninja – I got this in the XBL Arcade, and it was one of the best buys I’ve ever made. Mixing stealth, action, and strategy puzzles this is a fantastic game with cool animation.
  • Dishonored – Another stealth/action/strategy game. Though this time with a far more involved story, cool magic, and the ability to use rats to murder people. Challenging yourself in this game is half the fun.
  • Super Hexagon – I was gifted this game by someone who obviously hates me. It’s evil. Amazing, but evil.

TV

  • Arrow – The new take on the DC character. Much more violent and dark than the incarnation in Smallville. It’s doing a ham-fisted job of introducing characters from the DCU though, and I wonder if the Black Canary will ever scream.
  • Last Resort – This show has been cancelled already, which is a shame. A story driven more by politics than anything else it was a nice insight into why war is a money maker.
  • Revolution – Woo, a good sci fi show that hasn’t been cancelled (yet). Occasionally the story plods along a bit, but generally there’s enough action and intrigue to keep you going.

Books

I looked through the books I’ve read this year, and I came to the conclusion that I read only one book released in 2012. My favourite read this year was Fahrenheit 451, but that was released a long time ago.

  • Redshirts – If you are into science fiction at all, or ever watched the original series of Star Trek, then you know exactly what this is about. The eponymous “Redshirts” discover what that means in the context of their reality, and I’ll say no more about it. Great humour and drama from John Scalzi yet again.

Leave a Reply

